2007 ACUI National Championships

2007 ACUI National Championships
The Association of College Unions International (ACUI) proudly announces its 2007 Collegiate International 9-Ball Champions. Minnesota State University Mankato hosted this international championship, now in its 70th year, on July 10-12 in conjunction with the Billiard Education Foundation (BEF) Junior National Championships.

Eleanor Callado made history this year as the only player ever to have snatched four ACUI titles (’03, ’05, ’06, and ’07). Andy finished in 3rd place in 2006, which was his first ACUI title attempt.
The 30 male and 19 female players in this event represent over 600 collegiate contestants who vied for a shot at the international title by first winning their campus championship and later finishing in the top tier at their regional championships.
Full results of the ACUI National Championship tournament:
Women’s Division
1st Eleanor Callado San Francisco State University
2nd Elizabeth Zingale Florida State University
3rd Mili Kozomara Northern Illinois University
4th Emilyn Callado San Francisco State University
5th-6th Amy Chen University of Florida
Tomeka Tanner North Carolina A T State University
7th-8th Christine Nguyen University of Maryland
Lauren Robertson Florida State University
9th-12th Cassara Carroll Creighton University
Angie Edwards North Carolina A T State University
Alison Fischer University of Wisconsin Stevens Point
Jennifer Poulson Arizona State University
13th-16th Giovanni Aviles University of Illinois – Chicago
Andrea Breitung University of North Dakota
Geneive Jaramilla San Francisco State University
Sylvia Nuñez University of Utah
17th-24th Nicole Johnson Arizona State University
Jimin Kim Nassau Community College
Karla Yates Morgan State University
Men’s Division
1st Andy McKinn California State University Los Angeles
2nd Ryan Balks Michigan State University
3rd Brian Deska University of Maryland
4th Tang Te University of Florida
5th-6th Kyle Boers University of Wisconsin Whitewater
Chris Fangre California State University Fullerton
7th-8th Saad Alam DePaul University
Chad Rhodes Florida State University
9th-12th David Allen University of Maryland
Dan McGuire University of Akron
Mike Shrum University of Akron
Matt Weber Creighton University
13th-16th Josh Hinze University of Wisconsin Stevens Point
Tommy Najar New Mexico State University
Ben Tom California Polytechnic State University
Lars Vardaman Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
17th-24th Aaron Beyerl North Dakota State University
Charles Crouch University of Houston
JP Engstrom Boise State University
Jake McIntyre James Madison University
Shintaro Morita University of Texas – Arlington
Tien Pham University of Wisconsin
Alex Scott Virginia Tech
Brian Williams Purdue University
25th-32nd Ray Chay University of Illinois
Mike Goetz St. Cloud State University
Chris Hansen Virginia Tech
Daniel Noyes Idaho State University
Bobby Silvey University of Missouri
Tim Tyson University of Illinois
In addition to their trophies, the 1st- through 4th-place winners will receive scholarships ($1000 – $500 – $250 – $100) and the sportsmanship winners will receive a $100 scholarship each. Furthermore, the two champions will receive an automatic invitation to the 2008 Championships (provided that they are still in school and meet all other requirements). They will not have to re-qualify in a regional tournament, and their entry fees for the Championships will be waived.
ACUI also recognizes its athletes for their sportsmanship and breaking ability.
Sportsmanship Winners: (voted by peers)
Ray Chay, University of Illinois
Lauren Robertson, Florida State University
Honorable Mention: Charles Crouch, Mike Goetz, Dan Noyes, Amy Chen, Sylvia Nuñez
Best Break Winners: (by contest)
Charles Crouch, University of Houston (points: 16)
Geneive Jaramilla, San Francisco State University (11)
Honorable Mention: Tien Pham (15), Lauren Robertson (11),
This was the third year that the ACUI Collegiate tournament took place alongside the Junior National Championships. For more information about junior pool, visit BilliardEducation.org. For more information about the collegiate pool season, visit ACUI.org and click on “Student Programs.” There is an active Facebook group for general ACUI 9-ball discussion among college students; if you would like to join, just search for ACUI 9-Ball” on facebook.com.
Congratulations to all ACUI Championship and BEF Junior Nationals participants!