Billiard Education Foundation Awards Academic All-Americans

Billiard Education Foundation Awards Academic All-Americans

It was a proud day for the sport of pocket billiards as 39 of the 136 junior players competing in the 2007 Junior National 9-Ball Championships were given the BEF Academic All-American award. Medals and Certificates of Achievement were presented to each youngster by BEF Executive Director Laura Smith and Director of Program Development Dawn Hopkins at the BEF Junior Nationals banquet. The stage was overflowing with smiling recipients as parents savored the moment.

The BEF supports and recognizes the student-athletes who excel both in the classroom and in billiard competition. Academic All-American honors are given to those who qualify for the BEF Junior Nationals, plus earn a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Students must complete an application and submit their report cards to receive the award.

2007 Academic All-Americans

Chris Anderson
Spencer Moore
Chad Behnke

Logan Parker
Brendan Bennett
Alec Parker

Ryan Beutler
Tanner Pruess
Taylor Calderon

Angelo Quadara
Reza Dastmalchian
Daniel Rakin

Adam Davis
Dante Rakin
Tyler Dollar

Jack Sanchez
Ryan Dunn
Taylor Satterwhite

Caroline Egan
Landon Shuffett
Logan Elkins

Derrick Sims
Jesse Engel
Ricky Smiley

Carlos “Alex” Esparza
Rondell Smith
Christopher Futrell

Adam Tanner
Jeremy Gibson
Amane Tawarada

Chuckie Holyoke
Jason Trager
William Howard

Vince Villarreal
Nicole Jaynes
Schuyler Woodward

Kurtis Larkin
Amber Yniguez
James Lawrence

The Billiard Education Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit charitable organization committed to furthering the standard of excellence and leadership within the billiard community by engaging in activities related to the education and cultural advancement of tomorrow’s leaders.
For more information about the BEF, please visit or contact Laura Smith at 303.926.1039 or e-mail (